HomeProgramsCalendarEducationMembershipGivingAbout Us

World Affairs Council of Charlotte 













World Affairs Council of Charlotte 
UNC Charlotte - 227 CHHS

9201 University City Blvd 
Charlotte, NC 28223 
Tel: 704-687-7762 
Fax: 704-687-1654 I 



Find us on Facebook View our profile on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter View our photos on flickr Visit our blog  



The World Affairs Council of Charlotte (WACC) was founded in 1983 as an outreach program of UNC Charlotte and its Office of International Programs. As a non-profit, non-partisan organization, it is supported by private funding from individual and corporate member dues and contributions.


As a regional center for education and discussion of world affairs, the WACC seeks to provide leadership for global thinking, believing that a broad perspective is necessary for effective competition in the global economy and for responsible citizenship in the increasingly interdependent political world. 


The Charlotte Council is a member of the World Affairs Council of America and together with approximately 100 other such World Affairs Councils and affiliates across the country, our mission focuses on improving international education and encouraging citizens to participate in the national debate on world affairs.




The World Affairs Council of Charlotte has a full time staff of three, as well as a board of directors from the corporate and educational community. Directors serve three-year terms and the Chairman of the Board serves for two-terms of two years. In addition, there are several ex-officio directors who serve as a function of their official positions with the city or the state. Previous board members who have served with the World Affairs Council include Michael Almond, John Belk, Philip Blumenthal, Parks Helms, Sue Myrick, Jack Perry, Richard Vinroot, James Woodward, and Anthony Zeiss.   

Ljubomir (L.J.) Stambuk
President & CEO, World Affairs Council of Charlotte

Charlotte Klopp
Vice President, Programs and Education

Stephanie Phipps
Assistant Director, Programs & Development 
Danielle Cobos
Program and Membership Manager
  • BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2012 - 2013

     Mr. Robert Holcombe, AREVA Inc.
    Treasurer: Mr. Thiru Govender, Elliott Davis
    Immediate Past Chair: Mr. Michael Hawley, K&L Gates LLP

    Mr. Rajnish Bharadwaj
    Wells Fargo

    Mr. Joel Gallegos
    UNC Charlotte

    Dr. Vikram Kumar
    Davidson College 

    Mr. Rick Cantwell
    Odell International LLP

    Mr. Stephen Hunting
    Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein

    Mr. Firoz Peera
    IBM (Ret.)

    Mr. Lynwood Mallard
    McGuireWoods, LLP

    Mr. Chuck Allen
    US Airways

    Mr. John Lassiter
    Carolina Legal Staffing LLP

    Hon. Millie Cox  - Past Chair
    Honorary French Consul (Ret.)
    Charlotte Country Day School (Ret).
    Mr. Michael Gwyn
    SAIC Constructors LLC
    Mr. Joe Piemont
    Carolinas HealthCare System
    Dr. Marie-Claire Marroum
    Carolinas Pathology Group (Ret.)
    Ms. Lisa Rhyne
    Duke Energy Corporation
    Mr. Douglas DeMoss
    General Dynamics Armament and Technical
    Products (GDATP)
    Mr. Oscar Cranz
    Bank of America
    Ms. Cecilia (Cecy) Ramirez
    Nova Digital Systems, Inc.
    Ms. Vicki Sutton
    Paramount Parks (Ret.)
    Carolinas HealthCare Foundation
    Mayor Anthony Foxx 
    City of Charlotte
    Hon. Heinz Roth 
    Honorary Consul of Switzerland to North Carolina 
    Hon. Kurt Waldthausen
    Honorary Consul of the Federal Republic of Germany to North Carolina  
    Hon. Wayne Cooper  
    Honorary Consul of Mexico to North Carolina
    Hon. Michael Teden, OBE
    Honorary Consul of Britain to North Carolina 
    Hon. Larry Dagenhart - Past Chair, WAC Charlotte
    McGuireWoods LLP


Copyright World Affairs Council of Charlotte I All Rights Reserved
World Affairs Council of Charlotte I UNC Charlotte  I  227 CHHS Building I 9201 University City Blvd  I  Charlotte, NC 28223  I  Tel: 704-687-7762  I  Fax: 704-687-4372 I
www.worldaffairscharlotte.org  I  E-mail: info@worldaffairscharlotte.org